Board & Commissions

Appointed and Elected Boards

2022 Appointed & Elected Officials List (PDF)

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors in composed of 5 members elected to 6 year terms. The Board of Supervisors serves as the township’s legislative body, setting policy, enacting local ordinances, adopting budgets, and levying taxes. Because there is no separately elected executive the board also performs the executive functions, such as enforcing ordinances, approving expenditures, and hiring employees. For more about the rule of a Supervisor in a Second Class township click here

Planning Commission
The Planning Commission is a 5 member board that recommends plans to the Board of Supervisors. Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serve 4 year terms.  The Planning Commission meets the first Wednesday of the month at 7:00 pm.

Zoning Hearing Board
Appointed by the Board of Supervisors pursuant to the Municipalities Planning Code. The Zoning Hearing Board meets when necessary.

Municipal Authority of Buffalo Township (MABT)
The Municipal Authority of Buffalo Township is in charge of providing the Township with public water & sewage. The authority is governed by a 5 member board, which is appointed to 5 year terms by the Board of Supervisors.  The Municipal Authority meets the 3rd Thursday of the month at 7:00 pm.

Parks & Recreation Committee (PRC)
The Parks & Recreation Committee was created by the Board of Supervisors to provide recommendations for future recreation in the Township.  The Parks & Recreation Committee meets the first Tuesday of the month at 7:00 pm.

Home         General         Office         Boards         Government         Links